The West Wing

Released in September 1999, the original NBC series The West Wing created an instant cult following with its seemingly realistic weekly excursions to the inner sanctuaries of the White House. The series has become such a success that some pollsters have claimed that some people actually believed that Jed Bartlet was the real president (although, if true, this is more of a negative reflection on the intelligence of the electorate and not necessarily an indication of the West Wing Realism). ). But regardless, the truth of the matter is that West Wing definitely strikes a chord with a certain audience, delivering a fun mix of action, suspense, and drama on a weekly basis …


The skilled Hollywood actor Martin Sheen plays the title role of President Jed Bartlet. The day-to-day affairs of Bartlet’s administration are handled by several people around him, including: Claudia “C.J.” Cregg (Allison Janney), Josh Lyman (Bradley Whitford), Sam Seaborn (Rob Lowe), Toby Ziegler (Richard Schiff), Leo McGarry (John Spencer) and Charlie Young (Dule Hill). The West Wing follows these dedicated staff members as they work long hours behind the scenes to help keep the White House running smoothly. Along the way, the stresses of work and the characters’ personal lives give an interesting look at what many believe to be an accurate portrait of the White House administration in real life …

The West Wing DVD features a number of dramatic episodes, including the first in the series, where we meet each of the recurring characters for the first time. At the White House, his daily routine is disrupted when President Bartlet falls off his bike and Sam realizes that the girl he picked at a bar the night before was an expensive prostitute. Meanwhile, various members of the administration become embroiled in an ongoing dispute with the “religious right”, prompting President Bartlet to personally condemn a group of fundamentalists known as “The Innocents of God” … Other Episodes Notable season 1 highlights include “The Crackpots and These Women” in which the administration staff spends the day listening to various crazy, monothematic bands pushing for federal favors and “Take This Sabbath Day” in which President Bartlet is grappling with the decision to commute the death sentence of a convicted murderer following a Supreme Court ruling upholding his conviction …

Below is a list of episodes included on The West Wing (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (pilot) Air date: 09/22/1999

Episode 2 (Post Hoc, Ergo Propter Hoc) Broadcast Date: 09/29/1999

Episode 3 (A Proportional Response) Air Date: 06-10-1999

Episode 4 (five votes less) Broadcast date: 10/13/1999

Episode 5 (The Crackpots and These Women) Air Date: 10/20/1999

Episode 6 (Mr. Willis of Ohio) Air date: 03-11-1999

Episode 7 (The State Dinner) Air date: 10-11-1999

Episode 8 (Enemies) Air date: 11/17/1999

Episode 9 (The Short List) Air Date: 11/24/1999

Episode 10 (In Excelsis Deo) Air date: 12/15/1999

Episode 11 (Lord John Marbury) Air date: 05-01-2000

Episode 12 (It will, from time to time) Air date: 12-01-2000

Episode 13 (Trash Take Out Day) Air Date: 01/26-2000

Episode 14 (Take this Sabbath) Broadcast Date: 09-02-2000

Episode 15 (Celestial Navigation) Air date: 02/16/2000

Episode 16 (20 hours in L.A.) Air date: 02/23/2000

Episode 17 (The White House Pro-Am) Air Date: 03/22/2000

Episode 18 (Six Meetings Before Lunch) Air Date: 05-04-2000

Episode 19 (Let Bartlet Be Bartlet) Air Date: 04/26/2000

Episode 20 (Minimum required) Air date: 03-05-2000

Episode 21 (Lies, Damn Lies, and Statistics) Air Date: 05/10/2000

Episode 22 (What Kind of Day Was It?) Broadcast Date: 05/17/2000

Leave a Comment